Glossy Ibis at Holiday recreation complex

Posted in nature by paulie on November 7, 2009

Glossy Ibis can be seen seasonally at the Pasco County Holiday recreation complex.  A pair has been present for the last few days and I shot some video.  The Ibis’ presence upset a juvenile Moorhen whose parents got involved.  The Moorhen family bothered the Ibis until they left.  I was very amused by the Glossy’s brief attempt to threaten a Moorhen.

The Glossys flew toward the TV towers where there must be a substantial roost.  I have not figured out how to get to it but in the evening you can see hundreds of birds heading in.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wanda Cannedy said, on April 15, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    I have not checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I¡¦ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it friend 🙂


Leave a Reply

