Palm Warbler at the plant table

Posted in florida garden by paulie on December 2, 2009

Video proof! I first photographed the Palm Warbler who fed at my table in late 2007. This is unusual because, of course, the bird is an insectivore and not a visitor to any feeder. But among the seeds I put out are a kind of engineered nutrition pellet for domestic birds and this warbler has learned to eat those. I believe this is the same individual that learned to eat the pellets and who has wintered with me since at least 2006. He returned about a week ago and will be with me until mid-March of 2010. I am happy to contribute to the life of this formidable bird for as long as we cross paths. Here’s what I wrote about him in 2/08.

And, yes those are flower spikes on the Black Aloe in the picture. I am aware this is often referred to as a nonblooming kind of Aloe. Mine blooms regularly with long rests. The flowers are large and coral – orange.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Angel & Mariel said, on December 3, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Nice video of the Palm Warbler, we have never observed them eating anything other than insects and rarely a fruit. Great documentation; we really enjoyed watching your video, great quality as well. What camera are you using to capture these moments? Have a great day.

    Nature is Awesome
    Angel & Mariel

  2. paulie said, on December 9, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Thanks for reminding me to geve them oranges!


Leave a Reply

