White Pelicans: a rare sight

Posted in nature by paulie on December 28, 2009

For me at least.  I’ve seen them four times, that’s once for every two or three years that I have lived in peninsular Florida.  Once I saw a hundred of them form a wheel high in the air, moving south on the wind faster than I could drive my car – without a one of them ever flapping a wing.  I thought they were Storks but thanks to my Audubon friends I learned that I had seen the White Pelicans.  On this blustery day they were fighting turbulence to make their transit altitude.  They could not make a distinct formation but, spotted by us while still at low level, you can see what they look like as they soar.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tom said, on January 10, 2010 at 8:18 am

    I am not a member of FL Birds and so I am contacting you here, could it be there are not many bugs out given the temp’s of late, as in eat what is available or go hungry!!! Tom


Leave a Reply

